Widely Read Magazine in Nigeria

Nigeria’s Flamingos to face Germany, Chile, New Zealand in India 2022


Nigeria’s Flamingos to face Germany, Chile, New Zealand in India 2022

Nigeria’s national under-17 women team was on Friday drawn in Group B of this year’s FIFA Under-17 Women’s World Cup finals in India.

The Flamingos were drawn alongside women’s football powerhouse Germany, Chile, and New Zealand.

The draw ceremony was held at the Home of FIFA in Zurich, Switzerland.

Hosts India is in Group A with powerhouses U.S. and Brazil, as well as African representatives Morocco.

Cup holders Spain, Colombia, Mexico, and China make up Group C, while Group D has Japan, Tanzania, Canada, and France.

India and the U.S. will kick off the tournament officially inside the Kalinga Stadium, Bhubaneswar at 8 p.m. India time on Oct. 11.

The Flamingos, who missed the last tournament in Uruguay in 2018, will have a great re-integration party as they confront Germany at 8 p.m. India time on Oct. 11.

The match which will be held at the same time as the opening match will hold at the Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Goa.

Nigeria’s other matches are against New Zealand on Oct. 14 (4.30 p.m.), also at the Nehru Stadium in Goa.

They will be up against Chile at the Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar on Oct. 17 (4.30 p.m).

The tournament will have the top two teams from the four groups going through to the quarter-finals.

The Flamingoes, who qualified for the tournament without conceding a goal in six matches, are making their sixth appearance at the event.

They will seek to navigate the group if they are to win the competition for the first time.

NAN reports that 16 teams, including hosts India, are participating in the event.

The 2022 FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup will begin on Oct.11 and end on Oct.30.

Groups and Teams For U-17  Women’s World Cup 

Below are the groups and teams for the U-17 Women’s World Cup 2022: 

Group A: India, USA, Morocco, Brazil

Group B: Germany, Nigeria, New Zealand, Chile

Group C: Spain, Colombia, Mexico, China

Group D: Japan, Tanzania, Canada, France

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: