Widely Read Magazine in Nigeria

Uba Sani Retains El-Rufai’s SSG, Appoints Others


Uba Sani Retains El-Rufai’s SSG, Appoints Others

By Abdullahi Ahmad Bamalli

The Governor Uba Sani of Kaduna State has approved the appointment of senior government officials expected to fill key positions in the administration of the state.

Balarabe Lawal, the immediate former secretary to the state government under Nasir El-Rufai’s administration, was retained due to his vast leadership experience to ensure the administration’s smooth transition.

Read Aso: Buhari’s Ex-Spokesperson, Femi Adesina, Gets New Job At The Sun Newspaper

The immediate past governor had urged the new governor to form a strong team that would support his administration and perform as he had in the previous eight years.

A statement by the Chief Press Secretary to the governor, Mohammed Shehu, released in Kaduna on Tuesday, said his principal also retained the services of other senior members of the Nasir El-Rufai Administration to provide the link between the two administrations.

“Muhammad Hafiz Bayero will serve as Senior Advisor Counsellor to the Governor, while Barrister James Atung Kanyip and Chris Umar have been appointed Deputy Chiefs of Staff to the Governor. Dr. Shehu Usman Muhammad and Bulus Banquo Audu were appointed as Counsellors to the Governor,” a part of the statement read.

He added that the governor also approved the appointment of Sani Liman as the new Chief of Staff.

“He was the immediate past Comptroller of Immigration Service, Kano State Command. Before his deployment to Kano, he was the Comptroller of Immigration Service, Kaduna State Command.

“Sani Liman holds a Bachelor of Education in English from Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria and a Master of Science degree in Peace Studies and Conflict Resolution from the Open University of Nigeria. He attended many courses in Corporate Leadership and People Management and Intelligence Management.”

Similarly, the spokesman said, the governor also approved the appointment of Habiba Shekarau as the new Head of Service.

He said Shekarau, who is the current Permanent Secretary of, Ministry for Local Government Affairs has more than thirty years of experience in the Kaduna State Civil Service.

“She was Permanent Secretary (General Service), Office of the Secretary to the State Government, Permanent Secretary, Civil Service Commission as well as Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Housing and Urban Development,” he added.

According to him, the appointments are made in recognition of the fact that the state requires competent hands and knowledgeable people to assist the new administration deliver on its sustained agenda.

Other appointees are Muhammad Bayero, Senior Advisor/Counsellor; James Kanyip, Deputy Chief of Staff (Deputy Governor’s Office); Chris Umar, Deputy Chief of Staff (Legal & Legislative Matters); Abubakar Haruna, Deputy Chief of Staff (Support Services); Prof. Bello Ayuba, Principal Private Secretary; Dr. Shehu Muhammad, Counsellor, Political Affairs; while Bulus Audu becomes Counsellor, Land Matters.

The appointees also include Hafsah Aminu Ashiru, Private Secretary to the Deputy Governor; Naja’atu Garba Ahmed, Senior Special Assistant (Governor’s Office); Dr. John Danfulani as the Senior Special Assistant (Research & Documentation); Shuaibu Isah Gimi serves as Senior Special Assistant (Strategic Communication); Nasiru Abdulkadir, Senior Special Assistant (Print Media); Dahiru Ahmed, Senior Special Assistant (Electronic Media); Samuel Kure; Senior Special Assistant (Public Affairs); Manassah Peter, Senior Special Assistant (Public Communication, Deputy Governor’s Office); Peter Ibrahim, Senior Special Assistant (Media & Communication – Deputy Governor’s Office).

Others are Zainab Mohammed, Senior Special Assistant (Kashim Ibrahim Fellows); Jewel Tokpa, Senior Special Assistant (COS’s Office); Umar Maikudi, Senior Special Assistant (Economic Matters); Shuaibu Kabir Bello, Senior Special Assistant (ICT); Maureen Okogwu-Ikokwu, Senior Special Assistant (Special Duties); Maryam Abubakar, Senior Special Assistant (Inter-Governmental Relations); Muhammad Bashir Aliyu, Senior Special Assistant (PPS’s Office); and Iliasu Mamman as Senior Special Assistant (Protocol, Abuja).

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

ten + 2 =

%d bloggers like this: