Widely Read Magazine in Nigeria

Bayelsa Guber: PDP appoints Adeleke chairman electoral committee


Bayelsa Guber: PDP appoints Adeleke chairman electoral committee

By Collins Mbakwe

The Peoples Democratic Party’s (PDP) election committee for its gubernatorial primary in Bayelsa State has appointed Osun State Governor Ademola Adeleke as its chairman.

Also, in Imo, the leading opposition announced the appointment of Honourable Kenneth Okon as chairman of the version of the same committee.

This came as the PDP released the approved delegate lists for the governorship primaries for the PDP in the 2 states.

Read Also: Yobe Earmarks N103 Million For Feeding, Clerics’ Allowances At Ramadan

Umar Bature, the national organizing secretary of the PDP, disclosed this in a statement on Monday, noting that the decision was in compliance with the PDP’s commitment to free, fair and transparent elections.

The Appointments of Adeleke and Okon were approved by the National Working Committee of the PDP, and they will conduct the party’s primary in order to nominate the party’s candidate in the 2023 governorship election in the states.

The PDP governorship primaries in Imo and Bayelsa are scheduled to hold on Wednesday, March 12.

Wike, Makinde and 3 other governors of the PDP, known as G5, did not support the party’s presidential candidate, Atiku Abubakar, during the February 25 presidential election over his failure to give room for the southern bloc in the leadership structure of the party.

Our Nigeria News had earlier gathered that the PDP and its guber candidate in Lagos, Abdul-Azeez Adeniran, AKA Jandor, had submitted a petition to the governorship election petition tribunal the state over March 18 poll results.

Jandor and the PDP are demanding the disqualification of Babajide Sanwo-Olu of the APC and his Labour Party’s counterpart, Gbadebo Rhodes-Vivour, over non-compliance to the electoral law and INEC guidelines.

Sanwo-Olu polled the highest votes and was declared the winner of the election, while Rhodes-Vivour came second, and Jandor took the third position.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: