Widely Read Magazine in Nigeria

COVID-19: Thailand bans travellers from 8 African countries


COVID-19: Thailand bans travellers from 8 African countries

Thailand has on Saturday said it will ban travellers from eight southern African countries where a new Covid-19 strain has emerged.


The World Health Organisation has named the new “variant of concern” Omicron, and scientists are racing to understand it and whether vaccines need adjustments.

Read Also: UNICEF Calls Urgent Action To End Child Immigration

The variant has already reached Asia and Europe with one case in Hong Kong and a confirmed infection in Belgium.

Thailand’s disease control department said people from Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe would be barred entry from December.

From Saturday they will be unable to register to enter the country.

“Those that have already been approved to enter the country from these eight countries will be ordered to undergo an additional 14-day mandatory quarantine, starting now,” department director-general Opas Karnkawinpong told reporters.

African countries who have already secured approval to visit Thailand will be subject to 14 days in hotel quarantine.

Opas noted that no African countries are on a list of 63 nations eligible for quarantine-free travel to Thailand which started this month.

Read Also: Troops kill 128 bandits, arrest 64 others in 2 weeks – DHQ

Thailand has recorded more than 2.1 million Covid infections, the lion’s share since the Delta variant took off in April.

Only 57 per cent of the population of 70 million people are fully vaccinated.

COVID-19: Thailand bans travellers from 8 African countries


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: