Widely Read Magazine in Nigeria

Yobe speaker loses seat to PDP candidate, Musa


Yobe speaker loses seat to PDP candidate, Musa

By Njadvara MUSA, Damaturu

The Speaker of the Yobe House of Assembly, Ahmed Mirwa has lost his seat of representation in the Nguru II constituency to Lawan Musa, tphe opposition People’s Democratic Party (PDP) candidate.

Declaring the Assembly election results, yesterday (Sunday), in Nguru town, the Returning Officer of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Dr. Habib Muhammad, disclosed that Musa, a 35-year old candidate; scored 6,648 votes to defeat Mirwa of the All Progressives Congress (APC) with 6,466 votes.

Read Also: INEC Declares Makinde  Winner, Relected For Second Term

According to him, other candidates of ADC, NNPP and APM scored 3,023 and 14 votes respectively.

The Guardian learnt that the Speaker of the House, Mirwa had been representing Nguru II constituency since May, 2003, when he was elected to represent the people at the Assembly on the platform of All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP).

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: